Monday, January 2, 2012

Filled Under:

Twinkies have BEEF FAT in them

Twinkies, Ho-Ho’s, Ding Dongs, Fruit Pies, Mini Muffins, and Donettes are just a few that Hostess are known for.

This is news to me. I'm sure there are people who will still eat Twinkies but there are a lot of vegetarians who may not have known this.

Hostess issued this response: 

Our Hostess Fruit pies contain beef fat. The shortening ingredients noted on our labels are: vegetable (may be soybean and/or canola and/or cottonseed and/or palm oil) and beef shortening. “Beef Fat” when noted, is a very small trace used in the creamy fillings of our cakes for taste. Also, it is used in a trace amount in the vegetable oil frying medium.

Share on Tumblr


Post a Comment